sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

i was distracted

31 March 2004 |||


Right now I'm in California.

Pat got a job at this movie theater that's opening on Friday. He's getting trained in as I type this.

Yesterday was nice. We celebrated Pat's birthday early, which was nice. We had a nice breakfast, fresh fluffy eggs and crispy strips of bacon. And then Pat unwrapped presents, season one of Space Ghost Coast to Coast and a Shoryuken baseball cap. We took a nice drive to San Jose. Had a nice conversation over stromboli and a pitcher of Dr. Pepper. And we spent hours in the spa, soaking in nice hot bubbly water and watching the steam rise. We hung our swimsuits up to dry and snuck into the living room after his parents fell asleep.

Backing up, on Saturday Pat picked me up from the airport and we had lunch at El Pollo Loco. Unpacked my luggage and threw away melted chocolate and almost nodded off at a late showing of The Ladykillers, because at that point I had been up for almost 24 hours.

Sunday, we hit Haru Matsuri, a Japanese festival that takes place in the spring. There were taiko performances and ikebana displays and handmade crafts for sale and food stands, sushi and gyouza and udon, cold noodles that are perfect for hot sticky weather.

Pat just got back so I'll make this fast.

Anyway, I loved the festival. Took some pictures and bought peanut butter mice with mini M&M eyes and peanut halves for ears and licorice tails.

Monday was spent playing arcades. Pat was gone for like four hours taking a college assessment exam. I killed time chatting online. Nate instant messaged me and asked a few questions about Japan and said that not many people have the guts to do something like that. And I said, "I don't, either."

After having spent the last five days in California I'm actually kind of excited about living in Japan for ten months.

I'm going to miss Pat a lot, but I think that goes without saying.

My flight leaves at 12:30 p.m. tomorrow, which means I need to get up around 7:30 a.m.

I don't know what else to say.