sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

day 2: lemongrass and lime leaves

13 October 2003 |||


Last night Pat decided that he doesn't want to see me for a month. Lists of what he misses and what he doesn't, it reminds me of a poster I saw at Starbucks, a man in an apron sipping coffee from a spoon, sampling exotic coffees in spotless white mugs. I'm going to sit at the kitchen table every day after school with open books and graphing calculators, and then write a diary entry.

Jackie told me she's going to be a pirate for Halloween, and that her boyfriend is going to be her wench (Renaissance Festival, determined tortoises with kilts, soup in a bread bowl). I suggested that Tim dress up as a parrot instead - colorful clothes and faux feathers, a box of saltines. His fingers painted orange and curled over Jackie's shoulder like parrot feet.

Tomorrow I'm going to have Thai chili and lemongrass soup for dinner, with diced tomatoes and mushrooms and ginger. My mom and I shopped for lemongrass stalks and lime leaves at an Asian market on Saturday. There was a tangle of eels in a tank and frogs wrapped in cellophane.

My hair smells like coconut and I'm eating Hershey's nuggets, with gold foil and almonds.