sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

day 3: disappointment

14 October 2003 |||


Today after school I watched Drew Carey and ate a fat, toasted bagel with peanut butter, and drank a mug of orange juice.

I heard my silvery cell phone vibrating on the kitchen table, flipped it open and set some dishes in the sink, and Greg asked what I was doing tonight. Piano lessons, a paper rewrite, sleep, maybe. Tomorrow we're going to see Kill Bill and I'm going to eat buttery popcorn and sip soda through a straw. He promised me, and was surprised I was still there, most people hang up.

After the movie I'm going to a lecture on homophobia. Every Friday I attend a GLBT meeting during school, and we talk about homophobia and make plans and share cookies and chips and apple cider.

There's a teachers' convention on Thursday and Friday. No school. My parents are spending the weekend in Iowa at my uncle's house. I was looking forward to having a sleepover with Pat while they were gone. Waking up tangled and under blankets, the blinds slicing the sunlight like cheese, making pancakes and french toast. I asked Resa if I could stay at her house and tried to imagine his arms around me and his face buried in my neck.