sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

fictitious obituaries

03 February 2003 |||


On Friday I debated whether or not I should take band again come September. Upperclassmen are thirsty for control and often play two or three parts simultaneously, leaving me with photocopied sheet music for a part someone has already claimed. However, Mr. Browne sees me seated and toiling over math homework and sees a lack of initiative or desire to participate, and more than once have I been embarrassed in front of everyone and accused of laziness. But today, Jason threaded four cow bells onto a bungee cord and hooked the opposite end of the cord onto various people's pants or shoe laces (the idea being that when the victim stands, the cow bells will slide off the music stand and clatter to the floor). I almost wet my pants. It was like getting to take home a doggie bag of leftovers after sitting through a tedious dinner.

Drivers' training started today -- two hours after school for the next two and a half weeks. I was issued a text book and a booklet (that I get to keep! It's like getting a toothbrush on Halloween), and given a syllabus, a parental discussion worksheet, and reading assignments. With my abundant wealth of free time, I doodled on my desktop and decided to become an organ donor. I called my mom for a ride home afterwards; she was downtown refilling a prescription, so it took her a half hour to get to school. I browsed the trophy cases while I waited and studied photographs of athletes taken in the '70s. On the way home my mom and I picked up some fast food. I saw my little windmill's car in the Pizza Hut parking lot as we drove by. My mom had wanted to stop by Target to purchase a new cordless phone -- the one in the kitchen is rejecting the battery I bought for it yesterday like a child given green beans for dinner. I convinced her to drop me off at home instead (even though Target was across the street) so I could complete an extensive English assignment and go to bed early. So far I've watched a couple of episodes of Golden Girls and read a number of diaries.

Anyway, time to start my English homework abound with creative opportunities that can be found only by writing fictitious obituaries.