sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

i talk to myself when i'm pissed

09 February 2003 |||


I'm so bored I'm considering eating a banana for fun.

I've been sick since Friday, so on Saturday I stayed in bed until 1:30 p.m. I came downstairs for breakfast that afternoon and apparently forgot how many stairs there were, because I almost killed myself.

Earlier today I was sorting through my Hotmail account, and was greeted by a woman clad in yellow-tinted sunglasses and a tattoo sticking her tongue out at me. The caption beneath read, "Think Cupid's Stupid? Maybe we're better off not celebrating Feb. 14." I normally don't read articles featured on MSN, because MSN is a company that can't control spam. But. I decided to read it. It may have been better than eating a banana, is what I'm saying.

So. The title of the article is, "Why I love to hate Valentine's Day (and why you should, too)."

"I hate Valentine's Day. Oh, sure � I know what you're thinking: Single women always hate Valentine's because it makes them feel alone; no one is sending them flowers; blah, blah, blah."

And I'm thinking to myself, "This is exactly what I'm thinking."

"Let me tell you a story.

"My longest relationship was one of those engaged-but-never-married situations. We dated and lived together for a total of six and a half years, and I really did think I was going to marry this guy. And yet, on our first V-day together, he gave me one waxy rose from the corner market. The second year, I can't remember what he gave me. And the third year, girls, he gave me chopped liver. As in the old joke, 'What am I, chopped liver?'

"Now it's true that I actually like chopped liver. And at the time, I was living in New York near a very good Jewish deli, and the chopped liver was quite high in quality. But it was still chopped liver."

I'm not sure what to think about this. When I assumed that the author disliked Valentine's Day because she was single, there was the possibility that I may like her. But as it turns out she's bitter that the gifts she received on a holiday she herself calls "a third-rate marketing holiday" weren't up to par.

Anyway. I need to learn how to take less time writing diary entries. I start them and then dink around online and suddenly it's midnight, and then the next day at school I'm muttering about how I hate people. Because I can't hate people silently - I have to talk to myself.

But I digress.

Goodnight.