sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

what can you do?

23 May 2007 |||


last night i had a dream that my friend and i somehow stumbled across my boyfriend's online diary. never mind that my boyfriend locked up his online diary years and years ago, never to add an entry to it again. but i digress. in it, we read all about how he couldn't wait to get back to texas and spend summer vacation there, and how sick of minnesota (and me) he was.

this saturday i'll be getting out of bed and showering for work, and he'll be fifteen minutes across town at the airport, boarding a plane headed for texas. on the one hand i'm excited for him to be reunited with his family, his friends, his weiner dog jack. but on the other hand i'm of course sad to see him go, especially because less than a month after he returns to minnesota i'll be packing my bags for a semester abroad in tokyo. but as they say, shikata ga nai.

then my friend and i read an e-mail that my boyfriend had recently sent to a physicist friend of his, debating whether or not he should switch his major from aerospace engineering to "shelter-building engineering". and when i say "shelter", i don't mean houses. i mean fall-out shelters.