sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

where time gets fast

08 March 2004 |||


Pat only checks his email every three or four or five days, so by the time he goes online there are several new emails from me waiting to be read. Instead of sending off these long rambling incoherent emails I'm going to start writing more frequent diary entries.

I forgot to mention my second birthday party the other day. We ate Italian, we had fun with Play-Doh, we had double chocolate fudge ice cream for dessert, and we watched a movie.

School was cancelled last Friday. I was chatting online and my second host sister's brother asked me how to say yukidaruma in English. I punched it into my little electronic dictionary and "snowman" popped up.

Somehow we ended up talking about politics. He asked for my opinion on the upcoming presidential election and I basically said that I'm unhappy with the Bush administration for various reasons but that I'm unsure as to whether or not the Democratic party will be able to rally enough public support to win the election. And then Kazuaki said something like, "I hate Bush, too."

I finally have sheets. I stripped them off my bed over a month ago and washed them and since then I've been sleeping on a naked mattress. It didn't really bother me up until a week or two ago. I was in bed, on the phone, leaning against some pillows I had propped up, and balancing a plate of spaghetti on my lap. I spilled some sauce on the mattress and I suddenly remembered what sheets are for.