sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

they were right about you

01 January 2004 |||


Twenty-three plus days. I don't even really want to get into it, but I guess it's worth noting.

He left over a week ago. I was dreaming about having sex with him and I woke up at five. After I popped in my contacts I swung by his apartment to pick him up. He tossed his things in the back seat, his curvy guitar and his new laptop and his freshly folded clothes. He held me at the airport. I didn't use any of the lines I had rehearsed over and over in the dark. He said that he was sorry and he said that leaving was a mistake, his plane ticket booked and his little red car up for sale. I kissed him and his lips were soft.

At Di's last night, video games and My Neighbor Totoro. Chocolate cake sprinkled with sliced almonds and a frosty glass of milk at midnight.

Goodbye, 2003.