sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

free prize inside!

18 September 2003 |||


Yesterday Di picked me up before school and we stopped by a little coffee shop. I ordered a mocha and a poppy-seed muffin, and Di bought an iced coffee with whipped cream and a serving of pasta salad with turkey and dried cherries and almond slices. We drove to school and I held the van's sliding door open, "Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da" blaring, and we spent the thirty-minute block before class sipping coffee and sampling our breakfasts and blanketing the whiteboard with nonsensical Japanese sentences and sprawling artwork.

Two weeks ago, a bunch of us watched The Shawshank Redemption at Di's and then ate cheeseburgers at Culver's. Bendy sucked a root beer shake through a straw and announced that it tasted like sex. I tasted some. It was delicious, but Bendy has obviously never had sex. I imagined him curled up in bed next to the woman he'll lose his virginity to, telling her she was better than a root beer shake.

I asked Bendy to marry me. I popped a quarter into a machine and a ring tumbled out, a silver band with a gaudy purple stone glued on. He calls me "honey" and "dear" and picks me up when I hug him.

Also, I made a cast page a few minutes ago, like finding a decoder ring in a box of Cracker Jacks.