sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

germs aflame

16 March 2002 |||


I was awoken at 9 am this morning by the voice of an unfamiliar man lugging in my parents' new mattress. Their waterbed sprung a leak the other day, thus saturating the entire bed frame with water. My cats found immense amusement and curiosity in the sickly squish! noise that resulted when they frolicked upon the wounded mattress.

Last night before being dropped off at Resa's, my mom carted me off to purchase a birthday present for Pat that I'll be giving him when I see him in eleven days or so. Due to our past experiences with mysteriously losing track of packages somewhere along the labyrinth that is the postal service, newfound meaning has been given to the threat of "going postal." It's like an unpredictable installment of Russian Roulette -- you don't win, you're just not losing your grip on consciousness in a puddle of your own chilly blood yet.

I'll probably post another diary entry later today, considering the lack of worthy topic choice at the moment.

Oh yeah, and has anyone perhaps seen the commercial featuring Listerine mouthwash, in which a statement is made that the aforementioned product kills 99% of germs lurking in the depths of your mouth? A claim that is completely irrational considering humans desperately need the assistance of bacteria to protect them from sickness and the possibility of contracting allergies? Yeah, I discovered how they manage to obliterate 99% of germs.

They set them on fire.