sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

turtles and nirvana

23 January 2002 |||


In economics today, we were instructed to construct models of the school out of dough, noodles, and straws in order to demonstrate scarcity. However, because my school is so oddly shaped, no one in my four-person group knew exactly what the school looked like. I made a vague attempt to sculpt how I assumed the school must appear from the outside, but soon thereafter, someone from a neighboring table looked upon my artwork and exclaimed, 'That looks like one of those hippos from that one game! You know, Hungry Hungry Hippos!' With that, my group members and I decided to ignore all directions of building a model of the school. Instead, we molded our dough into the shape of a turtle, using the noodles to give its shell texture. We used straws to give our turtle a snorkel and a pair of goggles, and attached curved feet to the main body in the hope of making it appear to be a sea turtle.

After building our respective models, all of the groups were commanded to wander around the room and rank the models they saw according to how much they liked them, as well as list advantages and disadvantages of each model. I watched a few people list profound comments regarding my group's awe-inspiring creation. Profound comments such as, 'It's so cute!' and 'Turtle!'

I'm not sure about anyone else, but if my school was shaped like a turtle, I'd sure as hell feel slightly better about attending daily.

That, and the other night Nirvana played in concert during one of my dreams.