sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

subliminal messages

20 December 2001 |||


My mom holds conversations with my cats.

I'm assuming all of those who read my diary are, at the very least, vaguely intelligent. Thus, I'm in turn assuming everyone has admired the exquisite piece of literature that is The Lorax. You know -- by Dr. Seuss.

I probably just lost a massive chunk of readers right there. Readers who have sudden realized that their lives are now without meaning, now that they have finally come to terms with their anti-Seuss sentiments.

But yeah, moving right along. Continuing with this assumption that everyone is familiar with The Lorax, I'll provide a brief summary of the riveting story line:

There's this guy, and he feels the need to slaughter millions of this special type of tree for a business venture, and the Lorax (seen as this dinky, gingerbread man-esque figure with a mustache) warns this foolish business person of the consequences of taking advantage of such trees. The Lorax appropriately identified himself as 'the speaker of the trees.'

The importance of this, you ask?

I'm thinking my mom considers herself 'the speaker of the cats.' Because, according to her, it seems as though the cats always view things in her favor. Hah!

Everyone knows cats bow before those who feed them.

My mom also sings songs about my cats, too. Completely random songs that she makes up on the fly.

Speaking of singing, today during Japanese class, my teacher taught us all how to sing 'Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer' -- in Japanese, obviously. The entire class sang it in unison three or four times. After each round, the teacher would nod slightly and tell us that we had done a good job, even though there was a subliminal message praying that we'd stop before her ears began to bleed.

This entire entry reminds me of when planes are forced to circle airports.