sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

pumpkin goo

15 November 2001 |||


Peter, Peter, pumkin eater
Had a wife but couldn't keep her
Put her in a pumkin shell
And there he kept her very well

This familiar childhood rhyme plopped into my head today, for no definite reason. I muttered it a few times -- you know, just to satisfy the temptation.

'Had a wife but couldn't keep her?' Couldn't keep her? What the hell was she, a basset hound?

And this is probably just a personal preference, but y'know what? The man could kiss my feet and make sacrifices in my name, but being confided in a pumpkin, I'm sorry, no dice.

Furthermore, isn't keeping her in a godforsaken pumpkin keeping her nonetheless? Or is she left to scrape pumpkin goo off the walls with her fingernails and ration that over a 30-day period?

I just realized all of this today. No, really.