sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

snip snip

14 November 2001 |||


I overheard an interesting concept today. It went something like this:

STEPH: Oh my God, Jessica, have you seen Jeanie's hair?

Short intermission. Just wanted to interject that comments like this always snag my attention. Why? I find immense amusement and intrigue by observing others whose ways of thinking are drastically different than mine. Especially the ones that chitter anxiously over small potatoes as if the universe revolves around them and bows before their inconceivable ... cool-ness. And if that isn't a word, it is today. We now return to the previously scheduled programming.

JESSICA: Guh?

STEPH: Oh my God, her hair is so short! As sort as MATT's!

STEPH and JESSICA pause their riveting conversation to examine MATT, who, surprise surprise, has extremely short hair, considering his gender and whatnot.

JESSICA: What? Why?

STEPH: Her dad cut her ponytail off!

JESSICA: Why?

STEPH: He just, y'know, came in the room, saw her hair in a ponytail, was all 'I hate ponytails' and shit and just cut it off!

I'm wondering if I should adopt this way of thinking. Dude, can you imagine all the problems that would solve?

'I hate this shit. Let's cut if off.'