sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

oya oya

18 October 2001 |||


In the comics of the Sunday paper, they usually add in this slew of crossword puzzles and other such word games, and, of course, some educational bleebwah. One such example is this column (which is visually appealing to bait in the spawns of Satan -- err, 'kids') where the younger members of society can write in with science questions. For example, 'What is the maximum fundamental velocity of a speeding soccer ball punted at Kate's head?' Except, you know, the questions are less difficult/conspicuous. The writers of the column then answer the question, provide instructions for a simple activity, and finally explain why it works. They put the said column on the last page of the comics section, so I sometimes get a fleeting glimpse of a word or two as I'm folding the paper back up.

This past Sunday, I happened to notice the word 'electrons.'

Dude, I thought to myself with surprise, this [child] must have asked a pretty intelligent question for the explanation to include electrons. (Please note that I mean 'intelligent' in contrast to the average question: 'Why do I look more saggy than my grandmomma after I get out of the bathtub?') Still vaguely impressed, I read over the question that had provoked this response. I think the only time I had been more disappointed with humanity was when this classmate of mine suggested we drink ocean water in the event of a drinking water shortage.

'What are dust bunnies?'