sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

i'm curious

30 June 2003 |||


Voting started this morning. There were lots of entries this month; they're displayed here and here. Click and sign to vote. If you vote for my template I'll buy you a puppy.

Pat came over at three yesterday, freshly showered. He told me he was going to take me somewhere and that it was a surprise. Knowing that Pat doesn't play well with surprises, I asked where, and he said Noodles & Co.

noodlesandco.jpg

Pat ordered macaroni for breakfast. My mom had made tuna melts with baked potato chips and milk an hour before, so I asked for a fountain drink instead. After a few minutes of waiting for Pat's noodle dish to arrive, conversation ran dry. I took my digital camera from my lap and set it on the table next to my glass of Dr. Pepper.

patdoesntlikethispicture.jpg

I took a photograph and then handed my camera to Pat. He looked briefly at the picture preview before sliding the camera back across the table with a "meh." He doesn't like pictures of himself. He also doesn't like tomatoes or onions and deftly picks them out of whatever he eats.

Pat's macaroni arrived a few minutes later. He pushed the bowl to the middle of the table so I could have some. I used chopsticks and ate one noodle at a time to ensure that I didn't eat much of his breakfast.

After the bowl was empty, I sipped my Dr. Pepper and flipped my camera on again. I always look at whatever I'm drinking. I thought everybody did this, until I started taking snapshots of "what my mouth sees" and Pat began to laugh at me. Apparently he couldn't expel the image of me looking cross-eyed into my glass from his mind.

drpepper.jpg

After I had finished my pop, Pat and I walked to a gift shop on the other side of the strip mall and browsed for a few minutes. There was a pop-up book of phobias. Beaded jewelry. Lotion and cologne. A stuffed tomato and a stuffed kiwi.

We drove to Pizza Hut after that, so Pat could look at this week's schedule and copy his hours onto the back of a receipt. I took a picture of the sky and then of Pat as he was slipping his schedule into his glove box.

clouds.jpg
longeyelashes.jpg

Then we went to my house so Pat could check his e-mail. He was expecting a message from his mom regarding his visit to California the week after the fourth of July. He'll be there for two weeks - the first week he'll spend with his friends and family, and then the second week I'll join him and we'll play arcades and eat at El Pollo Loco. I'm still bitter that he doesn't want me there during the first week (probably not the second week, either), even though I understand why. Before we went inside I asked Pat if he wanted to climb one of the trees in my front yard. He shrugged and replied, "Why not?" and then scaled the tree with ease.

patclimbingatree.jpg

Pat's mom hadn't written him back, so he called her instead. Afterwards we drove to Minneapolis to buy popcorn from a little popcorn, malt, and shake shop near where Pat used to live. There was a live performance taking place nearby, so Pat parked in a Taco Bell parking lot a block away so we could investigate. Streets were closed off and throngs of people were gathered around the stage and various snack vendors. I almost wet my pants when I saw an ice cream man. He was leaning out of his truck talking to a man wearing a muscle shirt, and both of them were pointing to pictures of ice cream products on the side of the truck. I think Pat and I were the only two English-speaking crackers there. Some guy approached me and tried to get my attention in another language. I looked away and continued weaving through the crowd. We left soon thereafter and bought popcorn and beverages at the aforementioned popcorn shop a few blocks away. We sat on some wooden benches outside the shop.

popcorn.jpg

After the popcorn was gone, we bought some snacks from the gas station next door, listened to rap in Pat's car, and then returned to my house. We watched an episode of Serial Experiments Lain before Resa called and invited me to see fireworks with her, Josh, Nathan, Jenny, and Carl. Fun ensued. I ate some of Nathan's shaved ice and Resa tweaked Josh's nipple, as per my suggestion (she was trying to make him uncomfortable, and rubbing his thigh wasn't working). It made me wish Pat had come with so I could twist his nipples. He hates that.

I got home around 11 p.m. and played Final Fantasy III for an hour. I played a little today, too. Whenever I hear the music that sounds after victory in battle I picture Cloud swinging his sword with Aeris and Tifa by his side, and the camera circling around them. After playing a string of PlayStation 2 games, seeing Super Nintendo's pixelated sceneries seems foreign.

A package for Pat came today. It's thin and I want to know what's inside.