sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

i used too much water

14 June 2003 |||


School's been out for a little over a week now. I ate at Benihana. I wore a dress there, because it was the only item of clothing I had left that was clean. Also, I downloaded Californication (by the Red Hot Chili Peppers) and burned it onto two CDs. I gave one of them to Pat. I downloaded By The Way, too, but I haven't gotten around to burning that yet. I think it will be the last CD I pirate again. Ever. Because Kazaa is the cradle of idiocy, and I'm not kidding. And to whom it may concern: 128KB/S IS NOT "EXCELLENT," you stupid cat-raping house. 128kb/s is like a bar of Hershey's milk chocolate or a yellow number-two pencil. "AVERAGE." Love, Kate.

Wednesday - In celebration of Resa's last day of school, we drove out to Maplewood Mall. When we got to the arcade, there was already a boy (who was, surprisingly, not Asian!) defying the laws of physics on the Dance Dance Revolution machine. I forgot to buy an inch-and-a-half-long glowstick from the women's bathroom, but it was still fun. Because that's why Resa and I play Dance Dance Revolution. For fun. We repeat that to ourselves again and again so we don't have to admit that we dance like ketchup. (Ketchup shouldn't dance, and neither should we.)

Thursday - A few months ago I joined Diary Design, Inc., and every month we hold a template challenge based on a topic chosen by the previous month's winner. Voting takes place during the last three days of the month. I couldn't participate in May's challenge. Too many last-minute assignments, end-of-the-year projects, and study guides in preparation for finals. So I'm really looking forward to submitting a template for this month's challenge, "do what brings you joy," now that school's over. So anyway, I spent most of Thursday afternoon browsing stock photography and piecing together design previews while I waited for Pat. His shift was scheduled to end at 1:30 p.m., but instead he stayed until 5:00 p.m. I ambled upstairs and slipped on some pants and a free shirt from the Humane Society, and then I went outside and pulled weeds under the milky sky. I tried to avert my eyes from the ants and the aphids and the little white things that were scaling the rocks, but then I saw a beetle that looked like Mardi Gras beads and a water bug and two boys (Rick and Nathan?), so I dropped a handful of clovers and hurried back inside.

Friday - I got lucky on Friday the 13th. As lucky as you can get without having sex. Because I'm sure my friends wanted to know that.

Saturday - Pat and I rented Full Metal Jacket. I wish I had known it was a film about Vietnam beforehand, because then I would have left it on the shelf. It was all right, though.

Today, I drove to Starbucks with my mom and ordered an icy drink, and then to Target to buy a Fathers' Day card for my dad and some stationary. I'm planning on writing letters this summer to Kaoru (she hosted me for a week and a half when I visited Japan last summer), Keiko (my second host sister), and Akiko (the Japanese exchange student), who I think returns to Japan today or tomorrow. Now I'm sucking on some chocolates I found and browsing DiaryLand.

This woman was almost named Peaches.

Millions of peaches
Peaches for me
Millions of peaches
Peaches for free

I love that song like a child.

I knew this girl in middle school whose name was Heaven. I wished I could be a boy for a week, seduce her, and then have sex with her so I could say, "I'm in Heaven." I wasn't attracted to her, you realize, I just wanted to be witty.

I made rice balls last week with Pat. I bought a bag of sticky rice and nori (seaweed) at a little Asian market that's a few blocks away. The rice balls would've been better if I hadn't put so much water in the rice cooker, but the recipe was vague.