sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

green tea can be bitter

24 May 2003 |||


Hi. I haven't written in over a month.

I'm thirsty.

I've been busy with homework. I made frequent trips to Jamba Juice with Pat and sipped on fruit smoothies. I curled up on the barrel-shaped chair in front of the television and played video games.

Yesterday, I went to the zoo for a Japanese field trip. Outside the zoo was a modest carnival, a block away there was a conservatory. The conservatory housed a bonsai display, a Japanese garden, and a tea house.

I didn't visit the tea house. In Japan, I participated in a tea ceremony. In an authentic Japanese tea house. Floored with tatami mats and surrounded with shady bamboo trees and stone paths. Barefooted Japanese girls served us green tea and traditional sweets gracefully. The tranquility masked the bitterness of the tea.

Next year I'm going to Japan again.

I'll write again soon.