sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

fun with vandalism

02 May 2002 |||


A few minutes ago I was flipping through my planner so that I could update the progress of my countdown, a countdown that is steadily counting down to the day that I'll journey to California for the fourth time. The other day my mom agreed to cart me off there again via a one-way plane ticket -- that way I can stay at Pat's house for a week until he graduates from high school, and then we can drive back to Minnesota with all of his personal effects given that he's going to move here. Pat and I unanimously decided several months ago that after his high school graduation, he would abandon California and its fast-pace technological development and nimbus of job opportunities, and instead set up shack in Minnesota, known fondly among Resa and I as "the place that fun forgot." This is not to be confused with Iowa, which we have similarly dubbed as "the place that fun ran screaming from."

But I digress. As I was sifting through the numerous pages and advertisements in my school planner, I noticed a promotion for a contest that depicted a teenager with a floozy at either side, a parade of smiles and laughter as if to suggest that they were genuinely friends with one another instead of mere business associates. As I have done often in the past, I whipped out a felt-tip pen and began tracing the outlines of their faces and sharp creases in their features. This gives the illusion that the people depicted in the photograph are airbrushed comic book characters. So, considering the floozy distributor in the center already appeared under the influence with his inane facial expression and bucket hat, I decided he would be the prime victim of my ministrations. This provided me with several minutes of entertainment -- after my minor vandalism session, my victim of choice looked as though he snorted his breakfast off a mirror daily and had filed his teeth down to points, and his constant state of delusion had provoked him into wearing a floppy bucket hat and sunglasses that could've outdone the windshields on a bus. I took a picture of the destruction I had induced with the aid of my web cam for your viewing pleasure. I have appropriately entitled my unsightly creation "oh_god_no.jpg". Feel free to leave comments in my guestbook, whether they are complementary or are reminders that I should never be within a five-foot radius of a child.