sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

fake flags

19 February 2002 |||


Much to everyone's dismay, I'm sure, I'm still among the living. For the past two or three days I've been toiling over the new layout as opposed to heartlessly stealing someone else's contribution to the HTML-incompetent. So, because I spent such a long period of time slaving over this layout, if you dislike it, shove it up your ditty bag.

But yeah, so on Valentine's Day, I conformed to the loving and mushy-hearted sentiments by pilfering chocolate from a small child. And today, 'small children' constitute as freshmen -- just found it necessary to clear that up, considering many people think highly of small children, whereas everyone sneers upon freshmen.

The following Friday, I ventured with Resa, Lynn, and Mandy to a local restaurant with the intent of dining and conversing. Unfortunately, the waiter I was hoping would wait upon us was mysteriously absent. The last time I ate at that particular restaurant, my friends and I jotted a note on the five-dollar tip we left to this said waiter, a note vaguely thanking him for his 'services.' Good times, good times.

After we had tired of sitting among the elderly, Mandy carted us off to her house, where we continued our intriguing conversation and grimaced over pictures of Clif wearing a black dress embroidered with flowers, something he was coaxed with twenty dollars to do before he discovered that the twenty dollars had been previously stolen from his wallet. Lynn and I also threatened to leave Curt (Mandy's younger brother, who apparently is a prodigy mack-daddy among his eighth grade class) a lot less of a man with the aid of a minuscule pair of scissors protruding from a Swiss Army knife. We were inspired, with the scissors being the perfect size to handle such a task and whatnot.

Yesterday, Resa, Lynn and I again traveled into the outside world and watched The Lord of the Rings in theaters. Rick was supposed to accompany us, seeing as him and Resa had originally planned the outing in the first place, but for whatever reason he procrastinated in asking his mom and thus was deprived of the company of three devastatingly hot girls dripping of intelligence and maturity. I probably would've enjoyed the movie more had it not been so predictable, but hey, when you take into consideration that Tolkein was dangerously teetering on the brink of insanity, it doesn't behoove one to be overly critical.

And today -- today, I plodded back into the halls of learning. There was an assembly during second hour, where I wondered in disgust for the umpteenth time as to why every godforsaken presentation seems to be accompanied by PowerPoint. Damn, if you need a deadass cheap computer program to completely steer the course of your presentation for you, that should tell you something about your ability to speak in front of massive groups of people. PowerPoint is supposed to aid you and provide a general structure as to what you plan to elaborate upon, not host some mammoth movie for you with an overabundance of flashy fonts and exclamation points.

In addition, during the assembly the national anthem was sung so that we may further rise before the American flag, even though we had recited the Pledge of Allegiance less than ten minutes beforehand. I'm not saying that honoring the country in which you live is negative or anything of that nature, but sweet Lord, I feel as though I'm a member of a cult with this constant groveling before the nation's flag, especially that the flags in every room of the school (yeah, too bad I'm not joking about that one) are constructed of a flimsy plastic-rubber hybrid and plastered onto the wall with ticky-tack. I'm sorry, but if I'm going to say the Pledge of Allegiance, I'd like to say it to an actual flag, not some mass-distributed sheet of prosthetic material. Goddamn.

To end this entry on a desperate note, it would be greatly appreciated if perhaps, out of the kindness of your heart, you could leave me a note. Much like my fifteen-pound tabby cat who begs for kibbies every ten minutes or so, I depend on commentary every ten minutes or so. Feed me with your words, my children.