sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

i love him

02 February 2002 |||


Got back from playing in the piano contest an hour or two ago. I played so badly that I busted up laughing as I was performing, so I'm guessing that isn't a good sign. Before I left, however, Pat told me over the phone that he hadn't gotten any sleep the previous night because he instead chose to play Tanarus all night. I demanded that he attempt to rest while I was gone, since he hasn't slept for about five or six days now. Pat reluctantly said that he'd try, but told me to call him back when I returned home.

Thus, after my mom had graciously recharged my phone card, I called his third line, knowing that the ear-bleeding ringing tone would awake him if he had perhaps fallen asleep. When he didn't pick up, I instead phoned his first line so his mom could stir him from sleep instead.

I wish that she hadn't. The only time I've heard him less coherent is when he, out of nowhere, broke the ten-minute silence that had been established and began mumbling monotonously about a court and a jury, and when he couldn't answer where he had seen such a thing, he once again fell silent. Twenty minutes later, he couldn't even remember his muffled tangent of random words.

I asked Pat softly if wanted me to leave him alone for awhile so he could sleep until he had to go to work, and after a fifteen-second delay, he replied what with I assume was a negative response. Three minutes afterwards, I again questioned as to whether or not he wanted to rest longer, and this time around he said yes.

'Yes?' I mimicked, not quite understanding how he could flutter from decision to decision.

'Yeah,' Pat muttered. When I initiated the good-byes, he seemed extremely confused, as if he didn't comprehend what he had agreed to. I explained the situation to him once more, but by that time he had slipped back into slumber. After trying unsuccessfully to shock him into consciousness, I hung up, smiling in genuine amusement.

I love him, even though he'll probably have no recollection whatsoever of the conversation later today.