sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

i want some pie

29 December 2001 |||


If today was a potato sack, it'd be busting at the seams from being filled with innumerable exciting events.

I was awoken at 10:30 this morning by a phone call for me, as promised. It ended up spanning over four or five hours -- somewhere in there, I didn't consult a clock when the portable phone's batteries bit the dust.

Around 7:00 p.m. I waddled down to Resa's house, wary of the militia of ice patches. I was particularly careful due to the fact I was wearing sandals that are completely devoid of grip. As I cautiously shuffled down to her house, I was reminded of the year I resolved that I would go the entire winter without wearing any long-sleeved shirts. This was not wise, considering I live in Minnesota.

A short intermission will now be conducted as I beg shamelessly for cash to get my ass out of 'the place that fun ran screaming from.' If perhaps you are interested in selflessly giving your sympathy-money to a teenager wrought with confusion and an unhealthy addiction to the Internet, leave a note, goddamnit.

Anyway, continuing with the story that I'm hoping has the shelf-life of a Twinkie, I managed to survive throughout the entire winter with T-shirts. Made of cotton, no less. It may be the fabric of our lives, but it's severely lacking in the heat department. This year I have made a similar insistence to wear sandals all winter long. Why, you ask? I can't defy my parents or my teachers for fear of punishment, but the weather does nothing, so I figured rebelling against nature would be safer and less hazardous to my health.

Moving right along, eventually Resa and I traipsed back up the street to my house so we could initiate a viewing session of Mononoke-Hime (Princess Mononoke, for those of you speedily-challenged), and, surprisingly, it adequately lived up to its hype, even though I had to watch a delusional boar hack up blood and practically drop its entrails onto the ground.

After that, Resa left, and now I want some pie.