sweet cuppin' kates
diaries usually have titles that have nothing to do with the diary itself

turkeys ... are fools

21 October 2001 |||


In this city (let's call it 'Podunksville' for the sake of consistancy), a Thanksgiving parade is held every year, and in it, turkeys are carried on various floats. However, turkeys are only included if it isn't raining. One year in Podunksville, it began to rain during this said parade, so the turkeys, being resourceful, tipped their heads back and opened their mouths, hoping to drink some of the rain. Apparently their unquenchable thirst was not satisfied, because they all drowned.

I laughed my ass off when I heard this story. Perhaps it was because I could picture all of these turkeys clumped together in the pouring rain with their beaks gaping open, then one by one, each one falling over with a muted 'thunk.'

Yeah, I'm pretty sure that's why.